BTO Marsh Awards

BTO seeks nominations for prestigious annual Marsh Awards

Each year, selected birdwatchers, ornithologists and bird clubs are recognised for their contributions in furthering knowledge of the UK’s birds. The British
Trust for Ornithology (BTO) is seeking your help to find worthy winners for 2024.

Do you know a particular individual who has spent countless hours, tirelessly surveying birds in yourlocal area? Has your local bird club produced an in-depth atlas of the birds of your region that willinform future generations of the current status of species? Is there an outstanding young birder that
you know, who is making significant contributions to the work of BTO?

There are three main categories where members of the public are encouraged to propose nominees for consideration. Collectively, these are known as the Marsh Awards and are supported by the Marsh Charitable Trust and presented by BTO at the Society of Wildlife Artists (SWLA) Natural Eye exhibition at London’s Mall Galleries London in the autumn. 

The categories are:

Marsh Award for Ornithology – This is awarded to an individual or group who has had or is likely to have a significant impact in science, policy, practice, innovation, communication or engagement in the field of ornithology and particularly in relation to the UK’s birds.

Marsh Award for Local Ornithology - Awarded to a bird club or group that publishes a book, completes a study or conducts any other exceptional activity in the preceding calendar year that advances knowledge about birds or actively connects communities to local birdlife.

Marsh Award for Young Ornithologist - Awarded to an individual (or group of people) under the age of 21 who has / have made a significant contribution to BTO either by contributing to BTO’s bird monitoring schemes or by spreading awareness of BTO with their peers, or both.

Along with these awards, BTO also recognises individuals who have made notable contributions to ornithology. These include the Dilys Breese Medal, which acknowledges outstanding communication of BTO activities to a wide audience, along with the Bernard Tucker Medal and Jubilee Medal which both celebrate service and devotion to the Trust. Past winners of these awards include Mary Colwell, Chris Packham, Stephen Moss, Michael McCarthy and Harriet Mead.

Ieuan Evans, Director of Engagement at BTO, said “We know that there are countless dedicated people out there, in all corners of the UK, often quietly making significant contributions to our understanding of birds in the 21 st century. We want to recognise their achievements and efforts”.
He added “By nominating your local heroes for an award, we hope to acknowledge and celebrate the breadth and scale of the work being done by volunteers and dedicated birdwatchers everywhere”.

BTO welcomes nominations from anyone via a form on their webpage (nominations open 31
March and close on 31 May). To find out more, visit