The EBwS Bird News provides a summary of sightings for the past 14 days.
  • Headline News highlights interesting birds categorised as locally scarce or where the EBwS requires full notes/descriptions
  • Reports provides the full details of the sightings submitted to this website as well as other records e.g. from the East London Birders Forum
  • Table provides the same information as Reports but in a tabular format
  • Photos highlights the latest photos that have been uploaded to the website

Amber indicates a local or uncommon species, red indicates EBwS requires notes, bold red indicates EBwS requires a description.

Wednesday 24 Jul
Canvey Island, Thames Estuary:
Long-tailed Skua
Tuesday 23 Jul
Fingringhoe Wick NR EWT:
2+ Nightingale, Osprey
Naze, The:
Little Gull
Monday 22 Jul
Langdon Hills NR EWT:
Goshawk
Sunday 21 Jul
Hamford Water:
Osprey
Copford SW, near Stanway:
4 Raven
Limbourne Creek, Blackwater Estuary:
Quail
Abberton Reservoir:
6 Great White Egret, 4 Cattle Egret, Ruddy Shelduck
Saturday 20 Jul
Blue House Farm EWT, North Fambridge:
Wood Sandpiper
Copford:
2 Raven
Bradfield:
Osprey
Friday 19 Jul
Frinton-on-Sea:
5 Crossbill
Heybridge GP:
6+ Bearded Tit
Wednesday 17 Jul
Abberton Reservoir:
Ruddy Shelduck, 7 Spoonbill, Great White Egret, 6+ Cattle Egret
Naze, The:
Little Gull
Tuesday 16 Jul
Vange Marsh RSPB:
Garganey, Wood Sandpiper
Naze, The:
41 Barnacle Goose, Short-eared Owl, Little Gull
Sunday 14 Jul
Hanningfield Reservoir:
Red-crested Pochard
Abberton Reservoir:
3 Spoonbill, 4 Cattle Egret, Ruddy Shelduck, 5 Great White Egret
Old Hall Marshes NR RSPB:
10 Bearded Tit, Little Gull
Saturday 13 Jul
North Fambridge:
17 Barnacle Goose, Black Swan
Friday 12 Jul
Abberton Reservoir:
11 Spoonbill, 8 Cattle Egret, 5 Great White Egret
Blue House Farm EWT, North Fambridge:
Barnacle Goose, Black Swan
Naze, The:
Little Gull
Barking Bay/Marsh:
Ruddy Shelduck, 2 Black Tern
Thursday 11 Jul
North Weald:
Raven
Mersea Island:
Nightingale
Tollesbury Wick NR EWT:
Hen Harrier