In Memoriam


Brian Cooper (2024) Member since 1995, former Membership Secretary
Michael John Lane (2023) Member of EBS since 1985
Mike Logan-Wood (2023) Born in Yorkshire, Mike was an EBwS member for many years and a leader of his local RSPB group
David Turner (2023) Proud Yorkshireman and member of EBwS, National Trust, EWT, EFC & RSPB. Loved football, cricket and tennis
Graham Smith (2022) Joined in1959 - former Editor of Essex Bird Report, Committee Member of Bradwell Bird Observatory
David Wimpress (2022) Joined 1964 - former Editor of Essex Birding and Vice-President
Barry Hough (2022) Joined in 1951 - started ringing aged 14, conservation volunteer at EWT Back Warden reserve
John Howard (2022) Member since 1960s - former Treasurer, Membership Secretary and Chair of the Recording Committee
Michael Sandison (2021) EBS member for 25 years - chair of the Maldon branch of EWT
Phil Vines (2021) Society member who spent his latter years living in Norfolk
John Fitzpatrick (2021) Society member since 1950s
Nigel Cuming (2021) Society member for nearly 40 years - Suffolk County Recorder for insects
Sam Shippey (2020) Artist and EBS member for 50+ years - volunteered at RSPB Rainham
David Parrot (2020) Member for 10+ year - Secretary of Norsey Wood Society in Billericay
J Offord EBS member for over 30 years
R T Baxter EBS member for over 25 years
Jim Smith (2014) Active EBS member for many years